top of page

A look back at this year’s Erath County Hometown Heroes.

It was a year of accolades for Erath County and Leslie Walker Farmers Agency, which sponsored the 2022 Hometown Hero awards.

Every month, with the exception of August, residents were invited to nominate a person for the award based on their career field.

There were teachers, health care professionals, firefighters and law enforcement personnel all included for the honor.

“I am so happy this has grown each month and that more people are getting involved,” Leslie Walker told Beneath the Surface News. “The only problem now is that we have so many great nominees that it is getting harder for the committee to make a selection.”

The program will continue in 2023, but first, let’s take a look back at this year’s winners.

January - Cindy Bleeker, LVN – Stephenville Nursing Home

February - Warren Hoelscher, firefighter – Selden VFD

March - Venessa Griffin, deputy – Erath County Sheriff’s Office

April – Suzie Wallace, math teacher, and John Barnes, teacher/coach – Lingleville ISD

May – Emergency Department staff – Texas Health Stephenville

June - Dee Stephens, firefighter – Harbin Fire Department

July - Cameron Ray, Dublin police chief

September - Jamie Sparks, LVN – Mulberry Manor

October - Mike Childs, band director – Stephenville High School

November - Hunter Corbell, firefighter – Erath County Fire Department

December - Jason Schipper, Erath County constable

Congratulations to each of these public servants and many thanks for their work on behalf of Erath County.


bottom of page