top of page

Filing begins soon for several county officials facing re-election. Find out who’s in, who's out.

Texans will decide several statewide, legislative and congressional races next year including the offices of governor, lieutenant governor and attorney general, but several local officials are also facing re-election.

With filing beginning Nov. 13 and ending Dec. 13, I spoke with several of them about their plans for another term.

Here’s what I learned.


These elected officials confirmed with Beneath the Surface News that they will run for re-election:

• District Court Judge Jason Cashon will seek his third term.

• Erath County Judge Alfonso Campos will seek his second term.

• Erath County Treasurer Kimberly Barrier will seek her second term.

• District Clerk Wanda Greer will seek her sixth term.

• County Clerk Gwinda Jones will seek her fifth term.

• Justice of the Peace Bart Greenway (precinct 1) will seek his third term.

• County Court at Law Judge Blake Thompson will seek his third term.

• Erath County commissioner Jim Buck (precinct 4) will seek his second term.

• Erath County commissioner Albert Ray (precinct 2) will also seek another term.


This one was a shocker (at least to me).

Justice of the Peace Shawnee Bass (precincts 1, 3 and 4) told me that she will not seek re-election.

“I have been in office for 16 years and I think it’s time for a change,” she said.


bottom of page