top of page

This week’s political forum will feature candidates in city council, school board and county-wide races.

Updated: Apr 17


The Erath County Republican Party is hosting a political forum this week to help voters get to know local candidates running in a variety of races.


Carla Trussell, one of the event organizers, said the fact that two separate elections are happening in May is causing some confusion among voters, so let’s clear it up.


Voters will elect members to the Stephenville City Council and Stephenville ISD Board of Trustees on Saturday, May 4.


They will return to the polls on Tuesday, May 28, for the Republican Primary runoff to decide on Erath County tax assessor and commissioner of precinct 3.


Candidates in all contested races have been invited to the forum, which will take place at 6 p.m. Thursday, April 18, inside the cafeteria at Henderson Junior High.

The public, of course, is invited to attend.


Each candidate will have two minutes to introduce themselves and will then answer questions from the forum committee.


There will be no questions from the audience.


The forum will begin with the city races, followed by a short break then candidates running for county-wide offices.


Here’s a list of participants:

Stephenville City Council Place 4:


Dr. Bob Newby


Dean Parr

Stephenville City Council Place 8:


Alan Nix


Dr. Tina Virgin


Stephenville ISD Board of Trustees Place 2:


Dr. Rita Cook


Magan Estill


Rick Gann


Erath County Tax Assessor/Collector:


Niki McInroe-Cogburn


Valerie Stephen


(The winner of this race will face Democrat Marycruz Serrano in November.)


Erath County Commissioner Precinct 3:


Sherman Edwards


Ben Clements (not participating)


(With no Democrat running for this position, the winner of this race will become the next commissioner in November.)




bottom of page