top of page

Last-minute filings shake up city council races. Meanwhile, SISD board races remain unchanged.

It never fails.

There are always those last-minute political filings meant to shake up local races at the 11th hour.

Today was no different.

With a surprise switcheroo and two additional filings on Friday morning, Stephenville voters will have plenty to ponder in May.

Here’s a look at how it all went down.


As the last day to file to run for Stephenville City Council got underway Friday morning, Brady Pendleton filed to challenge Mayor Doug Svien.

Svien reportedly learned about Pendleton’s plans to oppose him just shortly before the filing took place at City Hall.

Svien filed to run for his third term as mayor on the first day of filing.

The move left Pendleton’s current seat – place 4 – open, but it was quickly filled by Bob Newby who is now running for it unopposed. (Congratulations and welcome to the city council, Bob.)

The race for place 6, currently held by Alan Nix who is not seeking re-election, turned into, well, a real race when Dean Parr filed for the seat, which is also being sought by David Baskett.

Mark McClinton sailed back into office after filing unopposed for place 8, currently held by Brandon Huckabee who is running for Erath County judge.

A big congratulations goes out to Justin Haschke who will serve his second term at place 2 after filing for re-election unopposed.


The Stephenville ISD board of trustees officially has a new member.

Matt Miller will begin serving in place 5 in May after running unopposed for the position, currently held by Dr. Ed Dittfurth who did not seek re-election.

Luke Sims and Amauri Martinez are both running for place 4, currently held by board president Dr. Ann Calahan who also decided to not seek another term.

Early voting will be held April 25 through May 2.

Election Day is Saturday, May 7.


bottom of page